The Urengoy oil, gas and condensate field located in the West Siberian basin is ranked among the top three largest onshore fields in the world. Its total geological reserves are estimated in the amount of 16 trillion cubic meters of natural gas. The field was discovered in 1966 and its development started in 1977. Gas production started in 1978. The work of gas workers is complicated by harsh natural and climatic conditions such as permafrost, freezing weather, tundra and the fragile ecosystem.

The Urengoy field extends from north to south for more than 230 km. It is 30 to 60 km wide and covers an area of about 6000 square km. Most of the field is located beyond the Arctic Circle. The currently developed sandstones are mainly related to the Upper Cretaceous period. They were formed 90 million years ago and lie at a depth of more than 1200 m. To minimize the impact on a sensitive ecosystem, the so-called pad drilling is used. One pad usually contains from two to seven wells.

The Urengoy Field includes three main horizons containing hydrocarbons: Cenomanian, Valanginian and Achimov.

CENOMANIAN
DEPOSITS

Cenomanian deposits are located at a depth of 1,000-1,700 m. They are located below the Turonian deposits. They differ from the Valanginian deposits with a significantly lower content of ethane, propane and gas condensate. Cenomanian gas mainly consists of methane. It is the most easily extractable gas and requires minimum processing costs. In the development of Cenomanian deposits less deep wells and larger diameter tubing are used, as compared to the Valanginian deposits.

VALANGINIAN
DEPOSITS

Valanginian (Neocomian) hydrocarbon deposits occur at a depth of 1,700-3,200 m. They differ from Cenomanian deposits with a significant content of ethane, propane and gas condensate. Valanginian deposits formed during the Neocomian period just like Berriasian, Hauterivian and Barremian deposits. The Berriasian deposit is often viewed as the bottom level of Valanginian deposits. The methods of gas and condensate production used at such deep occurrence require special well design (gas flow-line should also meet special requirements) and innovative technologies at gas treatment plants.

This gas contains heavy hydrocarbons; therefore, it has higher gas hydrate formation point. Gas extracted from these fields must be separated from water, mechanical impurities and its temperature needs to be reduced to 30 Сº below zero to obtain a final product of required condition. In the development of Valanginian deposits deeper wells and smaller diameter tubing are used, as compared to the development of the Cenomanian deposits. Gas flow-lines are designed to operate at a higher pressure.

Ачимовские
залежи

The Achimov deposits occur at a depth of approximately 3,500-4,000 m and have much more complex geological structure, as compared to the Cenomanian (occurring at a depth of 1,100-1,700 m) and Valanginian (1,700-3,200 m) deposits. Other gas-bearing beds occur at a depth of more than 3,500 m. This relates to the Early Cretaceous Achimov deposits formed about 140 million years ago. Achim sandstones have medium porosity and quite low permeability. These deposits bear oil and gas and are widespread in Western Siberia and found in many fields.

AO Achimgaz is one of the active field operators. Licensed block 1А, with an area of 354,689 sq. km, where the company carries out its activity, is located in the south-eastern part of Urengoy oil, gas and condensate field, south of the Arctic Circle.

Уренгойское нефтегазоконденсатное месторождение, расположенное в Западно-Сибирском бассейне, входит в тройку крупнейших в мире месторождений на суше. Его общие геологические запасы оцениваются в 16 трлн м³ природного газа. Освоение месторождения, открытого в 1966 году, началось в 1977 году, добыча газа осуществляется с 1978 года. Работа газовиков осложняется крайне неблагоприятными условиями окружающей среды - вечная мерзлота, морозы, тундра и хрупкая экосистема.

Уренгойское месторождение протянулось с севера на юг более чем на 230 км, его ширина — от 30 до 60 км, площадь – около 6000 кв. км. Большая часть месторождения расположена за полярным кругом. Разрабатываемые в настоящее время песчаники в основном относятся к верхнемеловому периоду; они образовались 90 млн. лет назад и залегают на глубине более 1200 м. Чтобы свести воздействие на чувствительную экосистему к минимуму, бурение ведётся так называемым кустовым способом. В одном кусте, как правило, насчитывается от двух до семи скважин.

В состав Уренгойского месторождения входит три основных горизонта, содержащих углеводороды: сеноманский, валанжинский и ачимовский.

Сеноманские
залежи

Сеноманские залежи характеризуются глубиной залегания от 1000-1700 м. Располагаются ниже туронской залежи. Отличаются от валанжинских залежей значительно меньшим содержанием этана, пропана и газового конденсата. Сеноманский газ представляет собой, в основном, метан и является самым легкоизвлекаемым и требующим наименьших затрат на переработку. При разработке сеноманского пласта глубина скважин меньше, а насосно-компрессорные трубы применяются большего диаметра, чем на валанжине.

Валанжинские
залежи

Валанжинские (неокомские) углеводородные залежи расположены на глубине 1700-3200 м. Отличаются от сеноманских залежей значительным содержанием этана, пропана и газового конденсата. Валанжинские залежи образовались во время неокомского периода, также как и берриасские, готеривские и барремские залежи. Берриасская залежь нередко рассматривается как нижний уровень валанжинских залежей. Способы газодобычи и добычи конденсата при таком глубинном залегании предполагают наличие особых конструкций скважин (газопровод-шлейф также должен соответствовать особым требованиям), использование инновационных технологий на установках по комплексной подготовке газа.

Этот газ содержит тяжелые углеводороды, поэтому температура гидратообразования у него более высокая. Газ из этих месторождений необходимо отсепарировать от влаги, механических примесей и понизить до -30 Сº его температуру, чтобы получить итоговый продукт необходимой кондиции. При разработке валанжинского пласта глубина скважин больше, а насосно - компрессорные трубы применяются меньшего диаметра, чем на сеномане. Газопроводы-шлейфы рассчитаны на более высокое давление.

Ачимовские
залежи

Ачимовские отложения залегают на глубинах около 3500-4000 м и имеют гораздо более сложное геологическое строение по сравнению с сеноманскими (находятся на глубине 1100-1700 м) и валанжинскими (1700-3200 м) залежами. Другие газоносные слои находятся на глубине более 3500 м. Речь идёт о нижнемеловых ачимовских залежах, образовавшихся около 140 млн лет назад. Ачимовские песчаники обладают средней пористостью и достаточно низкой проницаемостью. Залежи данного типа являются нефтегазоносными, они широко распространены в Западной Сибири и обнаружены на многих месторождениях.

АО «Ачимгаз» является одним из действующих операторов на месторождении. Лицензионный участок 1А площадью 354,689 кв. км, в пределах которого осуществляет деятельность компания, расположен в юго-восточной части Уренгойского нефтегазоконденсатного месторождения к югу от Cеверного полярного круга.